Week 12 – What Reaching Out Can Do

I am a VERY outgoing person by nature.  It’s one of my favorite things about myself (I can say that without sounding self-centered right?).  The ability to form connections quickly with people, break the ice, and generally invite people into my social circle with ease.

A few days ago I was at work, hanging out in the staff room waiting for my contract to be finished and enjoying a coffee.  A kitchen staff member came in for some water – I saw him around before, he was a new hire.

I could have easily just pulled out my phone and ignored him, or just looked at a wall, but instead I tried reaching out and struck up a conversation.  He was from St. Lucia, and was living and working in Toronto trying to start up a small business.  Then he said something that amazed me.

He was an avid reader of self-help books, and had his own google doc containing a library of hand-picked audiobooks he shares with a group of likeminded friends.

I was taken aback, and frankly his words pitched my judgementalism back in my face.  This guy looked rough, and so many kitchen staff read so little (with a few glowing exceptions) that I just expected him to be like everyone else with regard to books.  Instead, he asked for my email address and now I am invited to share his google doc and have an opportunity to download a plethora of self-help material for free!

That is what reaching out can do.

Leave a Reply

