Day 339

Today I was able to use my growing understanding and grasp of Arabic at work.

Most of the kids I taught today were from Pakistan and spoke Urdu.  While the languages are still wildly different, I was able to nail some correct pronunciation of a couple difficult names for native English speakers (try 5-7 syllables with a lot of dipthongs).

Another teacher, funnily enough, asked straight up if I spoke Arabic because I was pronouncing the ‘Q’ in kids’ names as ‘QAF’ instead of the English ‘K’

Also the EA read a storybook in Urdu, so it was the first time I heard that language spoken at length – which was cool.

Leave a Reply

