Day 317 – Teacher Movies

Over the winter holidays, I’ve been reading a ton of books on classroom management – I basically cleared out the section in my library and begun taking handwritten notes on stuff I find important (one of the secondary benefits of the notes is that my handwriting needs improvement anyway)

Despite a lot of dry, theoretical jargon and useless pontificating, one piece of information took me by surprise. It was a list of movies with the overarching theme of motivating a young teacher. Basically inspiring movies painting a teacher in a positive light.

Here is the list of those movies:

Goodbye Mr. Chips
Blackboard Jungle
To Sir, With Love
Stand and Deliver
Dead Poet Society
Freedom Writers
Front of the Class
Music of the Heart
The Great Debaters
Paperclips

I’m about half way through watching all of them and it was one of the best professional practice ideas I’ve ever encountered.

Leave a Reply

