Day 305 – Spider

“…It’s easier than workin’…it’s why I do this.”
– Spider

This post is dedicated to ‘Spider’, the pseudo-anonymous, lightning fast
short-order cook that was artfully cinematized serving up drunk customers in
the early hours of some saturday night.

I’m reminded so much of myself in my part-time job when I see
this guy work. I’m often told to “slow down”, that I’m working too hard and
I should take it easy. But it’s never like that – I relish finding small
efficiencies in physical tasks. Building speed and doing a menial job accurately
AND fast carries with it a feeling of accomplishment.

The way this guy flows through his workspace, executing deep neural pathways
in an almost trance like state…

Its moments like that where work doesn’t feel like Work.

Leave a Reply

