Day 269

Last night I caught a glimpse of the moon, bigger than I’d ever seen it before. It was like a mighty orange saucer hanging over the sky.

It piqued my interest in a question I’ve come back to over the years – why does the moon appear bigger when it is closer to the horizon?

Through some light research I found that the origin of the “moon illusion” is STILL DEBATED – no I’m not kidding. Some of the most powerful philosophical minds have weighed in on this – also not kidding. Aristotle, Schopenhauer, Kant, Bacon – all commented and offered theories including atmospheric lensing, cognitive error, and light refraction.

Wow…

Leave a Reply

