Day 212

One of the things I value is connections with people; forging them, strengthening them, and maintaining them.

I found recently, (especially that we are now both teachers) that the relationship between my mom and me has become increasingly mechanical. Sometimes it feels like we are just two people living in the same house, without any familial or social connections.

I thought of a way to remedy this. I invited her to do Shakespeare readings every Wednesday. She is just about the greatest Shakespeare buff I know, and this gave us a great way to connect and communicate over things that don’t involve whats for dinner, or my career.

Leave a Reply

