Day 203 – How far I’ve Come

The school year has begun and I am slowly beginning my supply teaching career for the 2014/2015 year. I spend most of the day working on a personal mission statement; a code of ethics and principles that will act as the root bed from which positive habits and practices will spring.

Because of this, I started reading through my entire journal history from the time I was 13 to get a sense of some of the underlying character traits I value. Reading over my personal history, the way I used to think, the feelings I harbored towards the people around me.

I can’t believe how far I’ve come.

A lot of my friends remarked that I made an incredible metamorphosis in University, only now do I see what they mean in an objective sense. I read on as my through process transformed from negative to positive. From addiction and frustration, to generosity and creativity.

I’ve mined a lot of valuable information researching my past, but I still have a ways to go. I still have questions that need answering. Questions that now hang in my room, in tall letters on my whiteboard. Questions I intend to answer.

What are my core values?
What principles should direct my life?
What is my mission?
What are my goals as a son, a friend, a teacher, an individual?
Why am I alive?

Leave a Reply

