Day 187 – Finding The Why

I was really motivated by this article I read today. And particularly this quote by David Wong.

“No one who wants to change their habits fails because they don’t know how to do it.”

It reminds me of some of the things Tony Robins mentioned, about success being 80% psychology and 20% mechanics. About drive, and emotional investment as the root bed from which action springs.

If you want something with a lasting desire, and not just prefer if it were to fall into your lap, you go out at do it. Consistently. Assiduously. Obsessivley. Learning the skills is the end of the road, not he beginning. I’m reminded of my own efforts to lose weight, years ago. I had the drive: I was sick of how I looked and felt, and I badly wanted to change. Learning how to lift weights, run with proper form, getting a gym membership; these were all a means to an end. They were the “How”.

I succeeded, because I never forgot “Why” I wanted it.

The “Why” is where the emotion lives. The “Why” is the vision. If you begin to change yourself or learn something new, without ever asking yourself “Why”, you are just fiddling with mechanics. There is no Soul, and when hardship and sacrifice inevitably show themselves, this “Why”less endeavor will be the first thing to go.

It’s a subtle thing to get caught up in the flow of habits, while loosing heart in what you are doing. Especially if you continue to talk about “doing it” while not actually putting in the work. I’m looking now at the things I want to achieve in my life, but seeking out a “Why”, even if it can’t be put into words, seems to be the cornerstone of achievement.

I leave off with a quote from Nietzsche. (and props to my highschool history teacher for drilling the exact spelling into our heads)

“He who has a strong enough why can bear almost any how.”

Leave a Reply

