Day 137 – Review: Dynasty Warriors 8 – Xtreme Legends Edition (PC)

I have a long history with Dynasty Warriors.  My first one was Dynasty Warriors 2 for the Playstation 2.  I remember vividly being awestruck at the heavy metal power fantasy clothed in historical chinese military history.  I was hooked ever since.

The most recent offering by Techmo/Koei (they have litearlly told the same immutable story for 8 games) has finally given me everything I could ask for in a Dynasty Warriors game.  To be honest, most of what I “could ever ask for” was simply local co-op, I am still enthralled.  The weapon affinity system (think rock, paper, scissors) gives you reason to switch weapons, which was lacking in previous iterations, just complex enough to keep me interested but not enough to drag it down.

The kitschy, corny soundtrack and so-bad-it’s-good voiceacting and cutscenes have made a return, which elevate the (historically accurate?) material into something Kaufmanesque, but this is all sidestaged to the surprisingly addictive, arcade style 3rd person beatemup action that has stood up to the test of a more than 15 game long franchise essentially telling the same story.

If you are a fan of power-fantasy action games, or feel like a Helm’s Deep simulator set in ancient China, you will not be dissappointed with this one.

Leave a Reply

