Day 134 – A screen I can put my hand over.

I am typing these words facing an open window, on a screen a hair larger than the breadth of my hand.  Typing like this feels very different from how I usually write, and I kind of like it.  Most often I am parked in front of the computer in my room, a 55 inch television screen in lieu of a traditional computer monitor.  It’s massive, encompassing my field of vision.  It’s a screen that demands the attention of the viewer.

This feels different.  I can snuff out this image utterly .  I can turn it around, or close it up and remove it from my sight.  I am reminded of the passage in Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 explaining how no television should be bigger than the palm of your hand in a world where the screens take up 4 walls of a room.

One thought on “Day 134 – A screen I can put my hand over.”

  1. This reminds me of the scene in Apollo 13 when Tom Hanks’ character is looking up at the Moon from Earth, and he blocks his view of it with his thumb. All a matter of perspective.

Leave a Reply

