Day 37

I came across an interesting passage when I was finishing up Plato today. 

The names escape me, but a man was ill at ease after being convinced of an idea he formerly rejected.  Socrates described him as being angry and feeling “as though he lost something precious to him”.  This made me aware of something.

I shouldn’t be treating my opinions like possessions. 

Although I feel I do this rarely; I once received a very nice compliment from a friend of mine who said “You are the only person I know that is completely comfortable with saying ‘I am wrong’”.  I like to think this is one of my better attributes.  Still, I’ve seen this habit of clinging to opinions as if they were something precious in myself many times.

Leave a Reply

